Skip to main content

Ages and Stages

Two babies

Ages and Stages

Young children go through specific periods of development as they progress from infancy to young adults. During each stage, various changes in the brain are taking place. “Ages and stages” is a term used to reference the key periods in the human development timeline. During each stage, growth and development occur across the following developmental areas:

  • Health and Physical
  • Social and Emotional
  • Language and Communication
  • Cognitive

As young children progress through each stage, they meet their “developmental milestones” as they display patterns of behaviors and achieved skills. For example, smiling, pulling up on objects, standing alone, taking a first step and waving “bye-bye” are all considered developmental milestones. As parents and caregivers, our goal is to understand the child’s brain and body development during each stage and to provide them with positive experiences to support and encourage their progress.

All children develop at their own pace; however developmental milestone charts provide general examples of how a typical child will grow and develop over the years. Click on the “ages and stages” link to learn more about typical child behaviors by age and to access tips for supporting their development.

The Milestone Child Development Chart is shown Courtesy of the Centers for Disease Control (CDC)

Child Development   Parenting Tips   Resources

An Educational Partnership to Promote Early Childhood Development. 

Copyright © 2021 Milwaukee PBS and Milwaukee Area Technical College. All Rights Reserved.