Milwaukee PBS's 2016 PBS KIDS Writers Contest - Winners

Educational, inspiring, and truly funny. Each year the children of southeastern Wisconsin amaze our judges with their story books. Writing and illustrating their own original stories sparks creativity, polishes writing skills and encourages an appreciation of art.

This year, 431 children submitted their works into Milwaukee PBS’s local contest, and of these, 17 winners were chosen for first place, second place, third place and special merit recognitions. Milwaukee PBS thanks all of the young authors and illustrators who entered and the parents and educators who helped them.


First Place:                            Pira J. - My Meditation Book               
Second Place:                        Annunciato M. - Super Happy Me
Third Place:                           Calum M.-  What Mom and I See 
Special Merit                         Ella S. – Caterpillar Rescue

First Grade

First Place:                            Olive S. – The Awesome Race 
Second Place:                        Dayna H.  – Snowman Takes a Bath 
Third Place:                           Tayler L.– The Painting Dog 
Special Merit:                        Addison G.- Left Behind

Second Grade

First Place:                            Emily O. – Jack the Squirrel Learns a Lesson
Second Place:                        Jazmin A. – Parrot’s Adventure
Third Place:                           Briana R. – A New Super Hero
Special Merit:                        Andrew D. – My Crazy Sister

Third Grade

First Place:                            Sam E. – Best Friends
Second Place:                        Sophia M. – Sweet Tooth Sammy
Third Place:                           Sean L. – My Life as a Kid
Special Merit:                        Everly S. – Hoot N Nanny
Special Merit:                        Sam M. – The Mischievous Monkey Takes Flight


Thank you to The Harley-Davidson Foundation for their support of the Milwaukee PBS’s 2016 KIDS Writers Contest.

Special thanks to the Betty Brinn Children's Museum, and the Kiwanis Club for their prize donations.